Padma awards An Indian Honour

Instituted in the uear 1954, the Padma awards for exceptional service in the field of arts, science, literature, government service, education, sports,public affairs, civil service etc. These awards are conferred upon citizens without any distinction of race, class, gender etc. The Padma awards fall under Indian honor system that is recognised by the indian government.

This system can be devided into the following categories : Leadership, Literature, patriotic, civilian and particular. Padma award falls under civilian honour system. On Republic day these award are conferred upon citizens to recognise their contribution to the nation service. Padma awards are given in 3 categories. Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Shri.

Padma Shri is for the distinguished service, while the Padma Vibhushan is given for the distinguished service of high order. Pdma Vibhushan is given for distinguished and exceptional services. At its inception there were 17 padma shri awardees, 6 Padma Vibhushan awardees and 23 Padma Bhushan awardees. Over the years thr number of recipient has gone up considerably.

During the colonial period state awards similar to the Padma awards were given to the people which would give them privilege in civic life. These awards were sometim These state awards were discredited as they had feudal mark on their titles. es inheritable too. Hence Indipendent Republic of India had rejected these awards till 1954 and these were re instituted in form of Padma awards The only difference between the colonial awards and Padma awards was that the recipient is not entitled to any civic privilege and the award is not inherited.

Announcement of Padma awards for 3 spiritual leaders created arguments. Many said that Spirituality is field of human endeavour, hence spiritual leaders are eligible for government awards. The Padma awards however have been under scrutiny ever since its inception due to differing idea of nation or politically contested.

This year (2019) Padma awards were given to

Three recipient of Bharat Ratna

  • 13th President of India, Pranab Mukherjee.
  • Singer Bhupen Hazarika
  • Social activist Nanaji Deshmukh

To find who were the recipient of Padma Awards for year 2019 plearer to the link.

Mre details on 2019 padma awards and processes refer to link.


Leave a Reply